Andrew’s Hamburgers

2 May

It all started with a Words With Friends bet with my friend Sean, resulting in an epic victory on my part.  The stakes being: winner gets shouted a burger by the loser (…did you really expect the prize to be anything but food related?).   Now, this absolute thrashing had taken place quite some time ago, but it took me a while to choose a venue for this said Burger Prize to be claimed.  I’d been spending most of my waking moments stalking fellow bloggers The Burger Adventure  as they traipse around the world in their quest for Burger Nirvana, and had been inspired to follow their findings myself…

The most appealing to me was the much touted burger at Rockpool (already my favourite go to for steaks and cocktails), and The New Market Hotel is also high on my list, but given that I’d already raped poor S of his ego and dignity, I felt I should give the guy a break and maybe go easy on his wallet (Yep it’s true. Contrary to popular belief, I can show signs of compassion).  So after much debate, we finally decided on trying the much hyped Andrew’s Hamburgers in Albert Park.

Andrews frontage

Having been reviewed by pretty much anyone with a heartbeat, (with RAVING reviews I might mention), there was more then just my big ego riding  on this feed.  And arriving at the small fish n’ chip take away style shop proved  it’s popularity.  The tiny interior was full of hungry hopefuls all waiting for  their  burgers with people spilling out onto the pavement.

The menu offers, obviously, BURGERS!  Steak, Chicken, vegetarian, all with  classic extras (including pineapple, beetroot, cheese, egg, bacon, even an extra  pattie for an extra $2.50) as well as souvalaki’s & sides of potato cakes, dim  sims and  fries.  To make it easy (and coz I’m kind of a pig) we got 2 burgers  ‘with the lot’ and a small hot chips to share.

When we ordered, the place was PACKED!! But as everyone is clearly local, they all got ‘to go’, so we squeezed ourselves onto the super skinny bar bench along the side of the store… and waited  … and waited! …  Ok!   This was getting a bit ridiculous! S and I sat, waiting as the whole store cleared out (about 20 minutes)  until they finally called our name.

Stamped and bagged! Burgers

Small Hot Chips. SO. Crispy $3.50

They say ‘good things come to those that wait’… well we had waited!  So this better be GOOD!  As I pulled out my little logo stamped burger filled paper bag, my heart became a flutter.  So this burger with the lot entails the following:  a classic beef pattie topped with melted swiss cheese, tomato, onion, fried bacon, a fried egg & finely shredded lettuce and cabbage.

That is a hell of a lot to fit into 2 lightly toasted burger buns, but as I unravel the wrapper, I’m delighted to see it is stacked high, to reveal a nice, thick crispy edged looking pattie.

So everything about the ingredients in this burger is pretty big.  Thick cut tomato slices, thick pattie, lots of bacon and LOTS of sauce.  It’s so thick I struggle to fit it all in my mouth at the same time… (must be working on my Burger technique…)

Burger with the Lot $10

So does it live up to all that hype?  Well, as a burger, it is pretty good!  The Pattie is meaty, the bacon adds a nice saltiness, that is slightly mellowed by the lashings of sauce that would validate eating with a bib!  There’s also that fresh finely sliced cabbage and lettuce which makes it feel slightly less sinful as you devour that mountain of meat and carbs!  That is until of course you tuck into the hot chips, which are super crispy, and definitely worth ordering even though you know shouldn’t.

Would I come here again?  Probably not in a hurry.  Yes, the meal was satisfying…albeit not quite as satisfying as the victory that earned it!  But after some discussion, S and I both agree that although this classic burger was well made, we’d probably not go to the bother of travelling across the river for something we could get locally… until perhaps my next victory – watch this space…!

Andrew’s Hamburger’s

144 Bridport Street Albert Park

9690 2126

Leave a comment